59 Seconds With… Nicholas Chan

Nicholas Chan

Nicholas Chan

Nicholas Chan
Founder and Chief People, Performance & Potential Officer (C3PO)
Yellowshorts Consulting Sdn Bhd

He teaches adults to play with Lego, runs training sessions like a Navy Seal bootcamp and he names himself after Star Wars’ C3PO. Yet, somehow thousands have taken Nicholas Chan seriously enough to benefit from what he has to offer.

What is Yellowshorts Consulting about?

“Yellowshorts Consulting was started in 2011 after being involved the industry for nearly 10 years. We are a learning and development house that emphasises on the consultative process and psychological personality types as a platform for engaging our clients.

“We pride ourselves with innovative methods in conducting training and development programmes all over the world, including in Malaysia, Singapore, China, Maldives, Mauritius, Iran and Taiwan.

“Other services that we offer are Lego Serious Play facilitation, Open Space Technology facilitation, strategic planning session for corporations and the newest addition to our services, the CEO and Executive retreats.”

What inspired you to start this business?

“I’ve always been passionate about training and developing people, I’ve always had an innovative mind on how training and development should be deployed even if it means additional steps and methodologies to get the client what they need to enhance their training needs.”

What have been your biggest challenges?

“The biggest challenge for me is really to ensure that I am up to date with the latest news and technologies in the industry, and staying ahead of the competition.

“Another challenge is that in order to ensure the client gets what they need, sometimes I need to tell them the hard truths and that proper investigation and research must be done before a proper training can be deployed for them.”

What are the key achievements to date?

“I personally have plenty of it but I do not use it as a yardstick as I don’t want to be complacent about it. I work hard and smart to get my client what they need to fulfil their training needs.

“Every training I conduct is an achievement for me; the look of earnestness and comprehension on the faces of my participants, the kinds words on my performance makes me proud every single time I step in front of the crowd. It is what keeps me going strong year after year, in bad and good times.”

What’s ahead for Yellowshorts Consulting?

“This year we’re looking into incorporating methodologies such as Gamification into all our training programs. We will also be using Lego as a platform to introduce a brand new concept of play and learn for adult learners.

“We also have a brand new company under the Yellowshorts banner, which is Yellowshorts Alliance, whose main product is PR, Social Media and CSR strategies, which is run by my new partner, Sheryl Ho.”

Boost your team’s performance with Nicholas Chan and his team at: www.yellowshorts.com.my.

Leave a Reply

